1. ColdFusion 9 installed as J2EE components. This can be done by installing ColdFusion as J2EE EAR file or J2EE WAR files, the latter will generate 2 war files, cfusion.war and rds.war. I can't exactly remember the name now but it is the last result from the top which means this IS NOT the Standalone or the Multi Server configuration.
  2. IIS 7 with the Application Routing Plugin and the URL Rewrite plugin. You may need to head to IIS.NET to get the plugins if you do not have them installed already.
  3. A J2EE server. For this I used GlassFish V3 since it is the 1 I feel had the most "turnkey" no frills setup. This should work for others such as JBOSS AS, Apache Geronimo etc.

Notes:

  • This was done on my personal Windows 7 Home Premium laptop. I do not see this as being very different on Windows Server 2008 but if there is, please let me know.

1. Installing The J2EE Web Applications

Here is where you have to mount the J2EE files created during installation. For the purposes of this test I used them as WAR files so I may deploy them again on Tomcat or Spring Server should I choose to do so later as to the best of my knowledge, those servers DO NOT support the deployment of EAR files.

Steps

1 – Go to your admin console. For me it is located at http://localhost:4848

2 – Enter your credentials.

3 – Navigate to the "Applications" node on the panel to the left.

4 – Install the "cfusion.war" file :

5 – This should now bring you to the deploy screen and follow the steps outlined below:

6. Repeat the same steps for the rds.war file.

Notes:
  • Doing this via an EAR file was not attempted by me but it should be the same as above minus step 6.
Setup IIS

Now here comes the part where you setup IIS. Please ensure you have installed the Application Routing and IIS Rewrite modules for IIS before proceeding.

1. Create a new Server Farm entry as seen below:

2. A prompt will come up to give your server farm a name, name it something thats meaningful to you. For me I used Glass Fish.

3. Setup the farm as seen below:

Okay now you should have all you need to go up and run your ColdFusion 9 server via IIS and Glassfish now as seen below:

There you have it. For me, I found the need to enter "cfusion" in the URL to be an irritation. I solved this by going to the Glassfish Admin Console and doing this:

Doing this should now enable you to get to Coldfusion Administrator without entering the "cfusion" thing in the url so it will look something like this, http://localhost/cfide/administrator.

With regards to custom web applications, this is still not quite like a standard ColdFusion install as you still need to put your ColdFusion files into the cfusion root, in my case all cfusion files must be put here :  D:\glassfishv3\glassfish\domains\domain1\applications\cfusion.

You also need to remember to tell your newly created ColdFusion farm NOT to serve certain things, in my case I asked it NOT to serve the following items as seen below:

This will prevent ASP.NET and PHP pages from being served in GlassFish. I probably need to also work on some URL rewrites to prevent IIS 7 from serving certain types of URLs into GlassFish as the settings above only prevent routing to GlassFish when those extensions are in the URL. I have not quite figured out a good way to do this but when I do, I will blog about it.